Jill Barber

Good Evening!

I had a most enchanting time on Friday evening at the Arden Theatre in Saint Albert! It was my first time visiting the Arden and I found it to be very charming and intimate. My favorite artist Jill Barber was performing that evening and I had waited so long for her to visit us in Alberta!

It was such a lovely performance: her romantic moonlight jazz transported me to an underground jazz club somewhere between the 1920’s and the 1940’s.  She seduced the audience with her sultry notes and engaging demeanor. They performed the best from her albums Mischievous Moon and Fool’s Gold (you should buy them both as well as her album Chansons). It was a real dream come true to see her perform live, but the best part of the evening was that she came out to the foyer after the show so that everyone could meet her. I got her autograph and my picture taken with her which was awesome. It was a magical night that I will never forget.

If you enjoy classic jazz à la Edith Piaf and Billie Holiday I promise you, you will love Jill Barber!

jill

Leave a Reply

